Skip to main content

QRIS Resource Guide

West Virginia

West Virginia operates a three-level tiered reimbursement system. The State places all newly licensed/registered providers at Tier 1. Providers may apply to be a Tier II provider by submitting written documentation that they met higher quality standards. Tier II providers would then receive an additional $2 per day per child. Child care centers who achieved accreditation by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) and family child care homes and facilities who were accredited by the National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC) received an additional $4 per child per day on Tier III.

West Virginia Contacts

Organization: West Virginia Bureau for Children and Families

Web Site:

QRIS State Profile

This profile is from the QRIS Compendium—a comprehensive resource for information about all of the QRIS operating in the U.S. and its Territories. It was developed by a partnership of the BUILD Initiative, the Early Learning Challenge Collaborative, and Child Trends.