Skip to main content

QRIS Resource Guide


Texas Rising Star Provider Certification is a process for improving the quality of child care services provided in Texas. The certification system offers three levels of certification to encourage providers to attain progressively higher certification requirements. Only licensed or registered providers that have an agreement with a local Workforce Development Board to serve Texas Workforce Commission subsidized children participate in Texas Rising Star Certification.

Texas Contacts

QRIS Name: Texas Rising Star Provider Certification

Organization: Texas Workforce Commission

Web Site:

QRIS State Profile

This profile is from the QRIS Compendium—a comprehensive resource for information about all of the QRIS operating in the U.S. and its Territories. It was developed by a partnership of the BUILD Initiative, the Early Learning Challenge Collaborative, and Child Trends.

QRIS Resource Guide Examples

Initial Design Process

Texas Early Learning Council Supports QRIS Revisions

Texas Rising Star (TRS) Provider Certification Criteria were launched in 1991 for providers that had an agreement to serve subsidized children. The criteria and procedures have been updated by the Texas Workforce Commission, the CCDF lead agency, and implemented by 28 Local Workforce Development Boards (see The Texas Early Learning Council (TELC) utilized a portion of their federal advisory council funding to research a strategic plan for an integrated, statewide QRIS that focused on collaboration and child outcomes.  The plan is available at  In 2012, TELC released three online stakeholder surveys to solicit input from stakeholders. The final recommendations and a projected five year budget were submitted to the governor and are available at  TELC also funded other quality initiatives that would support the implementation of an improved QRIS including a Texas and national program standards comparison tool, a career lattice and workforce registry, early learning guidelines for infants, toddlers and 3-year-olds, a mentoring toolkit, and a public awareness campaign on school readiness.  For more information on these initiatives, see  In 2013, legislation was passed creating a TRS Program Review work group charged with proposing revisions to the TRS standards to be considered in the development of rules to be proposed by September, 2014. 

In Texas, legislation provided the impetus for the development of new rules but charged a Texas Rising Star Program Review Workgroup with proposing revisions to the standards. The TRS Workgroup consisted of the following entities:

  • Texas Workforce Commission
  • Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
  • Texas Education Agency
  • Texas Early Learning Council
  • Local Workforce Development Board Member
  • Four Texas Rising Star providers
  • Texas School-Ready! Project participant
  • Three Local Workforce Development Board staff

The Workgroup was directed to consider the following in making its recommendations:

  • professional development standards for child-care directors and employees, including training and annual professional development requirements;
  • education and experience requirements for mentors and evaluators;
  • early learning and school readiness standards;
  • guidelines for infants and toddlers in child care;
  • training hours for providers;
  • playground standards;
  • best practices guidelines based on standards adopted by nationally recognized organizations, including Head Start Program Performance Standards, National Health and Safety Performance Standards, National Association of the Education of Young Children program standards and accreditation criteria, National Association for Family Child Care standards, United States Department of Defense standards, national accreditation standards, and School Ready certification standards;
  • research on infant and toddler brain development; and
  • strategies for the long-term financing of the TRS Program, including financing the payment of:
    • incentives to child-care providers participating in the program; and
    • grants and rewards to child-care providers that achieve and maintain high levels of service.

The workgroup established four subcommittees to conduct in-depth analysis of key focus areas. A wide array of stakeholders participated on these subcommittees from early education and child care.